Tier-2 Visa English Language requirments


Points for English language ability
Criteria: Points
You must be able to demonstrate you have sufficient. English language ability. 10

Applicants who do not have a degree taught in English have a choice of must sit and pass an Approved English Language Test. For a full list of these tests, please click here for the current list of Approved English Language Tests and the level/grade required for each test.

One of the most popular and widely accessible Approved English Language Tests for migrants to the UK is the International English Language Testing System (IELTS). According to IELTS, applicants must score at least 6.5 on each of the 4 components. IELTS measures the ability to communicate in English across all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking – for people who intend to study or work where English is the language of communication.

Note: Applicants for Tier 2 (Intra-company transfer) do not need to score points for English language if they are applying to extend their stay after their intiial 3 years in the UK.

Applicants from some countries where English is the official language are exempt from having to sit an Approved English Language Test.

Nationals of these countries can automatically claim 10 points for English language ability
Antigua & Barbuda Australia
The Bahamas Barbados
Belize Canada
Dominica Grenada
Guyana Jamaica
New Zealand St Kitts & Nevis
St Lucia St Vincent & the Grenadines
Trinidad & Tobago United States of America

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: